Faemom Crafts for Toddlers, Preschoolers and Kids

Decorate a tote

Posted on: May 22, 2009

(This project may be a bit advance for younger children as I used a stencil to decorate the tote.  Of course, I’m all for handing over the fabric paints and letting kids go wild.  I made this tote for my nephew’s birthday to replace a gift bag.  Evan liked it so much that he wants one.  You can make one with any theme or let the child do it.  I liked how it turned out.  And yes, it was fun.)

Things you need:

  • Tote
  • Stencil
  • Fabric paints
  • Paint brushes

Note: I used red, blue, and black fabric paint.  You can add water to dilute the paint if you would like.  Any type of stencils would work.

Lay the tote flat.  Place stencil down on tote.  You may tape it to keep it from moving.  Holding the stencil firmly paint within the stencil. 

I hope a black skull looks as good as a white one.

I hope a black skull looks as good as a white one.

It is easy for paint to soak under the stencil, so you must hold it firmly. 

Well, I wish I had yellow paint.

Well, I wish I had yellow paint.

It is best to let the print dry before using another stencil in case you have to overlap. 

Hmm, not bad, but it's missing something.

Hmm, not bad, but it's missing something.

I used the tip of the handle of the brush to write the words.

Do the letters look straight?

Do the letters look straight?

Leave a Reply

Nursery Rhymes

Many teachers have told me how important nursery rhymes are for child development. Jack be nimble. Jack be quick. Jack jump over A candlestick

My blog

Want to have a laugh? Well, I think I'm funny. Faemom
May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
