Faemom Crafts for Toddlers, Preschoolers and Kids

Plastic Egg Heads

Posted on: June 22, 2009

(I always liked those cute little egg shell planters.  I once read that cutting grass was an easy way for children to learn how to cut.  So I combined the two projects.  Since I was going to let Evan cut the grass, I figured I better use plastic egg cups.  Luckily these ones even had holes.  The boys loved doing this because they got to color with markers and play with the dirt.  How awesome is that!)

Things you need:

  • Egg carton
  • Plastic Easter egg shells
  • Markers
  • Dirt
  • Grass seed
  • Spoon
  • Water

Take the plastic eggs and have the child draw faces on the eggs.  (I wanted to add googley eyes, but Evan nixed that idea.) 

Decorating eggs

Decorating eggs

Place the eggs in the egg carton, so that they cannot be tipped over. 

See, mine had a face.

See, mine had a face.

Have the child place some dirt in the eggs with the spoon. 

There's a reason I suggested a spoon

There's a reason I suggested a spoon

Have the child put in enough grass seed to cover the area. 

You might want to do this outside

You might want to do this outside

Have the child put on a slim covering of dirt.  (Um, we missed that step.  We had too much dirt to begin with.) 

Grow, baby, grow

Grow, baby, grow

 Let the child water the plants and take care of them.  (Unfortunately we only had three blades of grass grow.  We’re redoing this planting experiment.)

Leave a Reply

Nursery Rhymes

Many teachers have told me how important nursery rhymes are for child development. Jack be nimble. Jack be quick. Jack jump over A candlestick

My blog

Want to have a laugh? Well, I think I'm funny. Faemom
June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
